Westmoreland County Tax Collection Committee

Wednesday December 8, 2021-Page 1

The Westmoreland County Tax Collection Committee (WCTCC) met on Monday, December 8, 2021, in the Meeting Room of New Stanton Borough, New Stanton, PA.

CALL TO ORDER: The WCTCC Chairman Scott Sistek called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. with

the following members present:

WCTCC Chairman -Scott Sistek -New Stanton Borough

WCTCC Vice-Chairman -Diane Heming -South Greensburg Borough,

Murrysville Borough

WCTCC Secretary -Caprice Mills -Donegal Borough, Mt. Pleasant

& Open Records Officer Township, Cook Township,

Donegal Township, Mt Pleasant Borough, Mt. Pleasant Township, South Huntingdon Township, Unity Township, East Huntingdon Township,

Salem Township

(Attended) List

J. R. Dzurica -Mount Pleasant School District, Greensburg Salem School District

Crystal Clark -Belle Vernon School District

Jennifer S. Callahan -Burrell School District, Lower Burrell City

Scott Chappell -Derry Area School District

Pamela Mondock -Hempfield Area School District, Southmoreland School District

Jon Perry -Franklin Regional School District
Paul Sroka -Jeannette City School District
Dan Watson -Greater Latrobe School District
Eric Kocsis -Ligonier Valley School District

Ryan Kirsch -Norwin School District

James J. Meyer -Yough School District

Lori Latta -Derry Borough -Derry Township

Trisha Hildenoff -City of Greensburg-Greensburg Salem

-Allegheny Township, Avonmore Borough, Bell Township, East -Vandergrift Borough, Hyde Park Borough, Oklahoma Borough,

-Vandergrift Borough, Washington Township

-Manor Borough-Hempfield Area and Penn Trafford School Districts

-Parks Township

Mary Perez -Penn Township

Dave Tullio -Upper Tyrone Township

John Habel, III -Washington Township-Fayette County

Melissa Cortileso -Upper Burrell Township

-New Alexandria Borough -South Greensburg Borough

Diane Schaefer -Youngwood Borough, Hunker Borough

A quorum was present (67.05%)

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

<u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES</u> – Caprice Mills **MOVED** to approve the minutes from the January 27, 2020 WCTCC Meeting, and Diane Schaefer **SECONDED**. No discussion. **Motion carried**.

<u>PUBLIC COMMENT</u>-Jason Lawson from Keystone Collections made comment as to the letter that was mailed to the PSD's. He also stated that they locally owned with home office in Hempfield Township and are he is from N. Hunt. Twp and would like an opportunity to move forward with a RFP if the WCTCC makes the motion to do so. With locations in Murrysville and Greensburg.

John DeReamer VP Berkheimer discussing the contract proposal provided. Since the beginning of Act 32

continued improving the processes. Talked about always willing to match rates.

Westmoreland County Tax Collection Committee Wednesday December 8, 2021-Page 2

TREASURER'S REPORT -Caprice Mills reported for Diane Figg. The 2022 Budget is; \$11,700 with a \$30,000.00 assessment for 2022. Caprice Mills explained the assessments and how the funds are used for the WCTCC.

Current balance in the checking account is \$4,054.66 with three checks to be paid: Tribune Review. Ms. Mills reported the following municipalities have not paid the assessment; Fayette City Borough, \$22.61. Diane Schaeffer **MOVED** to approve the Treasurer's Report as presented, and JR Dzurica **SECONDED**. No discussion. **Motion carried**.

Diane Heming **MOVED** to approve the 2022 30,000.00 Assessment. Jr Dzurica **SECONDED**. No discussion. **Motion carried**.

COMMITTEE REPORTS-No Reports.

SOLICITOR'S REPORT-Solicitor Lawrence Maiello-None

AGENDA

- 1 Motion to approve the 2022 budget. Eric Kocsis MOVED and Jim Meyer SECONDED. No further discussion. Motion carried.
- 2 Motion to extend the existing Berkheimer contract for an additional 12 month period and initiate an RFP Process to select a tax collector to provide services upon the expiration of the 12 month term. Jason Winters MOVED and Diane Heming SECONDED. No discussion. Motion Carried.
- 3 Motion to extend the Berhkeimer Contract for the 3 years 2022-2024 at 1.37%-No Motion as acted on in Agenda Item no. 2.
- 4 Selection of 2022 Operating Board. The WCTCC Operating Board must have 10 members; five members representing School Districts and five members representing Municipalities and no more than two can come from within the same School District boundaries. Caprice Mills polled the current Board members and all agreed to be reappointed.
 Diane Scheaffer MOVED to approve the members for reappointment to the 2022 WCTCC Operating Board as presented, and Pam Mondock SECONDED. No further discussion. Motion carried.

Scott stated that there will not be an reorganizational meeting in January, as this meeting has addressed all items.

Adjournment – Diane Schaefer MOVED to adjourn the meeting. SECONDED: Caprice Mills.

Respectfully submitted,

Caprice Mills
WCTCC Secretary
& Open Records Officer

Westmoreland County Tax Collection Committee Wednesday December 8, 2021-Page 3